Published on

You may want a dedicated Inbox for GTD

Authors

I have implemented GTD in my work and life for over 10 years. After trying Evernote, Notion, Todoist, OmniFocus, and more, I still can't get an ideal Inbox experience for my workflow.

Inbox inside a To-Do app works, but...

It kinda works, using the inbox of a To-Do app (or the default notebook of a Note app) as the GTD Inbox, but that raises some annoyances:

  • It's not always frictionless to add a new item: Before you can save what you type or even before you can type in anything, some app requires you to enter more metadata, like Title, or Category.
  • There are too many distractions: It might be your pending task, your ongoing project, or a comment from your coworker.
  • It's not always easy to share content to another tool: Even an intention as simple as "copy this text to another app" often requires you to click through tons of buttons.

Stand-alone Inbox can do so much more

A stand-alone Inbox can not only solve the annoyances mentioned above but also provide some unique functions that would benefit a GTD system.

  • It can motivate you to clear your Inbox more frequently: by a notification system or some habit tracker alike system.
  • It can help you to clear your Inbox more effortlessly: by generating action suggestions based on your past behavior, or simply grouping similar items.
  • It can give you insights into your Inbox usage, so you know what to improve when doing the GTD review

I'm building one myself

I believe a stand-alone GTD Inbox would be awesome, yet there is no such app on the market. So I decided to build it myself.

I spent the past four months learning iOS development while building it. And today I'm very excited to show you the prototype of my vision - Pure Inbox.

If you're interested in this idea, please give it a try, and don't forget to tell me what you think about it. I will keep improving the app based on your feedback!

Pure Inbox App Store Screenshot

App Store download button

You can download it now for free on App Store.

To learn more about the app, you can check the dedicated post for my app.